Were You There?

August 18, 2009 at 11:40 am (Food, Fun Stuff) ()

 

Part of the invite

Part of the invite

I don’t want to over-hype my coolness, but the place to be a couple of weeks ago was Dixie’s shower! I can do no bragging, because everyone was super helpful. Even though this was, by far, the biggest shower I’ve ever thrown, it was also the easiest.

Dixie and her Mom (I mader her wear the boa and crown!)

Dixie and her Mom (I mader her wear the boa and crown!)

The nicest thing about the guest of honor being the Relief Society President is that everybody wants to help. The nice thing about all the craziness that’s happened to us this year is that I now have no problem accepting help! I think I’ve done away with the notion of having to do everything myself. For example, the invitations came from a wonderful little Etsy shop Lil’ Sprout Greetings. This girl did a great job, very reasonably priced, and super quick service. She also came up with the design. I just gave her the basic concept and she ran with it.

Guests

Guests

more guests

more guests

My other big revelation was to use the neighborhood clubhouse instead of my house. My usual big stress is cleaning the house, but using the clubhouse was wonderful. A big empty space with a lot of parking and lots of chairs and tables. I also didn’t have to worry about my kids running around or cooling off my living room for 30 people in the one hundred degree heat.

Diane and Anna hanging the lanterns and flower balls

Diane and Anna hanging the lanterns and flower balls

So, what do you do for a woman who is about to have her fourth boy? I went back and forth between many ideas, but the winner actually came from Dixie’s mother. Queen Dixie seemed like a very appropriate theme!

My Co-host Anna

My Co-host Anna

We also went very simple on the food: cookies, cupcakes, fruit trays and veggie trays. This is another place where we had a lot of help. Anna and I worked on the sweets, and then took other people up on their offers of help for the other things. I ran out of time to organize the game, but I don’t really think anyone noticed that.

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

 

Baby lemon pound cakes

Baby lemon pound cakes

Crown and onesie cookies

Crown and onesie cookies

 

A couple of weeks before the shower I was reading a BHG article that featured a company called Bake it Pretty, and they were the source for the super cute cupcake liners and cookie cutters, edible glitter and candy buttons. This is a wonderful source and they are very reasonable.

Bake it Pretty's pretty packaging!

Bake it Pretty's pretty packaging!

I was also very proud of the party favors: little packages of blue gummy bears. You can buy bulk gummy bears from many places, but the best place I found after much searching was Amazon. There price for 10 lbs. of blue bummy bears was half as much as anywhere else, and the shipping was only 99 cents for two day. A deal at twice the price!Dixie and her family have been calling the baby a gummy bear since the very beginning, so even if no one else got the joke, I know that appreciated it!

Sewing on paper was another time saver!

Sewing on paper was another time saver!

I don’t know if there’s really any more to report about this shower. I think it was a great time, and hopefully Dixie does too! The moral of this story it; don’t make things more difficult than they need to be!

The gift table

The gift table

3 Comments

  1. DJo said,

    How great that I get to be the first to comment! It really was all that and bag of gummy bears too! Thank you dearly and kindly.
    From the Queen herself,
    D.Jo

  2. ingrid said,

    This is DEFINITELY how showers should be…all about the Mama! Way to go, Sarah. I can see in the photo of Dixie that she was beaming! She is shining with happiness and gratitude. What good friends you are to one another. You sure know how to throw a shower!!!

  3. Steph C. said,

    Ok…I found your little “wordpress” 🙂 This is fun to read! Also, I’m bummed I was out of town for this shower. Looked like fun. I love baby showers. And those cupcakes looked divine. Way to throw a fun bash.

Leave a Reply

