How do I love thee?

November 16, 2009 at 10:11 am (Doug Stuff, Family)

october 239

All that was left!

My friend Dixie told me about a journal that she keeps specifically to record the many reasons that she loves her husband. I thought that this was one of the best ideas I’d ever heard. Sometimes something will come to me in the middle of the day, but by the time Doug gets home from work I’m too tired or frustrated or fed up with the kids to tell him. If I can write it down while I’m thinking about it, then it will be there for him to read when he’s having a bad day. It is also a great record for my kids. They do not always see us at our best, so it’s good for them to know that we always love each other, even when they are driving us bananas!

So, without further ado, here is the first entry that is going into the journal:

Dear Doug,

                        I don’t know how many husbands love their wives enough to travel all the way to Utah to bring their wives a Pulled Pork Burrito, Enchilada Style. I know I’ve been joking with you about this since we moved to Texas, but I didn’t know if you’d really do it. I can’t tell you happy having that little piece of heaven made me! I’m also glad that you’ve got friends who support us in our craziness and are willing to drive you around and let you use their freezer! Maybe most people don’t equate burritos with love, but those people have not been separated from their beloved burritos for years on end. I know that I can be a complainer, but I just want you to know how happy this made me. I love you.

p.s. If any of you are wondering how a burrito holds up after being frozen and flying halfway across the country, the answer is: amazingly well. Delicious!

5 Comments

  1. Trisha said,

    I love this post. I have always known that Doug was good man but really I had no idea just how much! You are one lucky girl!

  2. Anna said,

    that is awesome! Except now I want some rio myself.

  3. Charlotte said,

    Doug was in Utah? Dang, he should have called me so I could have gotten some Pork Barbacoa myself & seen my bro!!!
    You do have a good man!

  4. Sharleen said,

    Wow. How sweet! Doug is quite the doting husband.

  5. DJo said,

    it’s not even 8am and now I want a burrito.

Leave a Reply

