To Julia, With Love

January 14, 2010 at 9:41 pm (Food)

In a french pot, no less!

I, along with millions of other people, recently watched Julie and Julia. We watched before Christmas, and I was very inspired and a little depressed. Inspired, because who wouldn’t love to be living in Paris, and who wouldn’t love their little blog to be made into a book and  then a movie. A little depressed because I’m not living in Paris, nor is Ellen Page about to play me in a movie (ah the irony!).

Anywho, it made me pull out my copy of Mastering the Art of French Cooking. I’ve had it for a good long while, and it easily could have been me who came up with the Julie/ Julia Project, except that my name is Sarah. Whatever, I have skills, and I have a blog, and I’m just biding my time right now!

On to my main point. For Christmas this year Doug bought me some Beef Bourguignonne Braising Base from Williams Sonoma. I’m sure Doug knows that I could make the sauce on my own, but I’m all for expediency. All I can say is, sixteen dollars well spent. It was an amazing jar of sauce.  I probably could have eaten it without adding the beef. It’s a wonderful dish for company, but it probably  would have been better for our dinner guests had they not been a half an hour late, but it was still warm while we ate!

The secret ingredient

Maybe I could try a year’s worth of Canadian cooking. Day 1: poutine, day 2: pickled herring…

p.s. If you haven’t read Julia Child’s, My Life in France, you don’t know what you’re missing.

1 Comment

  1. anne said,

    you forgot
    #3. donairs
    and #4. ketchup-flavored potato chips

Leave a Reply

