A Year of Grateful Living

January 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm (Family)

After a few post-Christmas  meltdowns at our house we decided that our family theme this year should be gratitude. I don’t think our kids have any clue how blessed they are. Every time one of our kids tells us that, “it isn’t fair,” I have to remind them how lucky they are that life isn’t fair. If life was fair we wouldn’t enjoy a lot of the things that we have. The fact that we can take time with our kids to read them a story is a luxury that a lot of the world doesn’t enjoy. I don’t want my kids to feel guilty about what they have, but I do want them to appreciate what their blessings.

So, part of our year of grateful living is our family gratitude jar. Every day we come up with something that we are grateful for, we write it down and we put it in the jar. Right now it’s pretty basic stuff like family, but I’m hoping as we do more they’ll be able to think of some of the smaller things.

The other thing that we’re working on is what it actually means to be grateful. I have a bunch of quotations, and we’re talking about ways to show gratitude. That might get a little old for the kids, but hopefully it will make an impression. Last year our theme was “A House of Order,” and I really think that focusing on making our home more orderly really helped us. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this year’s theme will help us be a little more appreciative.

p.s. Don’t you love those blocks?! My sister-in-law Sharleen made us these for Christmas. There is a whole book of options with different messages. Awesome!

5 Comments

  1. Sharleen said,

    Oh I really like your theme for the year idea. I think I’m going to copy you. I’m glad you are using the blocks. I have to confess, I made myself a set too!

  2. ingrid said,

    I also love your theme. Our theme is to serve and be more giving. We are also using a big glass jar and filling it with warm fuzzies after doing kind deeds for others. (We got this idea from the warm fuzzies jar that President Monson shared at conference). I am going to add another jar like yours to fill every day with one thing we are grateful for!!! Thank you for the idea (After all, imitation is the best form of flattery!) 😉

    And Sharleen…When do you have us for Christmas?!?!?! I am loving those blocks!!!

  3. Trisha said,

    I love it! That’s a great idea! In fact I may steal it and have a family theme for ourselves!

  4. DJo said,

    very nice my friend. lead by example. we dunn’s need it.

  5. Annie said,

    How great are you?! I love the idea of a family theme for the year and this is such a good one that I think your kids will really learn from. You’re a good woman.

Leave a Reply

