Spending the week-end in D-town

January 25, 2010 at 8:42 pm (Family, Road Trips)

Ben interrupting grandpa's speech!

Does anyone really call Dallas D-town? I was looking up Dallas nicknames and it came up, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever heard anyone refer to Dallas as D-town.

Las week-end we had the chance to go up to Dallas to visit  some of Doug’s family. His father was celebrating his ten-year anniversary with with his company, and they were throwing a dinner for him. This appears to be a great company, because for 18 months of those ten years Doug’s parents were on a mission in Mongolia! They also seem pretty great to me because they bought toy fo all the little kids at the dinner. Samuel was very excited about his Color Wonder, and William loved his Spider-Man car.

Samuel, Alec and William playing with their gifts

Every time we plan a trip to Dallas I have an agenda of things I would like to see. I hate going to these big cities and just sitting on the couch. One of the things I really want to visit one of these days is the printing press where they print the money. I have asked to do this the last 4 or 5 times, but unfortunately the printing press isn’t open on the week-ends.

This visit we talked about going to see the JFK museum or maybe a visit downtown, but there was no time to do anything but see Ikea and a couple of outlets (I have no-one to blame but myself, but I really wanted some shelves!). Once again Doug has vowed to never return to the land of Swedish big box stores. If only they didn’t force you to go through that maze. If only there weren’t confusing toll roads surrounding the store!

Afton meeting Uncle Bryan for the first time

We had a wonderful visit with a few of Doug’s siblings and his parents and grandparents. His older brother Bryan flew in from Minnesota for the week-end, and we also got to see Dan and Amy’s new house. Unfortunately Doug now has a severe case of workshop envy!

Cousin Maddy

On the way home we stopped in to the Salt Lick for some barbeque. Best beef ribs ever! I love having the internet available while we drive. Next time we’re stopping at Round Rock Donuts!

Samuel enjoying ribs at the Salt Lick

I’ve been a little slow posting because I’m working on an idea that makes me a little nervous. I think I’ll bite the bullet and tell you all about it tomorrow.

3 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    Is it really making you that nervous to drive to Florida with four little ones? It will all be worth it when you arrive. 😉

  2. Charlotte said,

    Sounds like fun!

  3. DJo said,

    Were you going to tell me about this bullet biting idea on the phone today and I kept getting distracted with my hooligans? Now I have to wait just like everyone else. Who am I if I am just another somebody? That doesn’t feel quite Royal enough! 🙂

Leave a Reply

