Should you choose to accept it

January 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm (Random Thoughts, Why I'm crazy)

The Challenge:

Go a whole day without Complaining

I'm not complaining but... these boxes have been stacked
outside of the garage for three weeks!

 

A few weeks ago Doug mentioned that I complain a lot. I don’t disagree with that statement. I do complain… A LOT. I’m not quite sure where this comes from. I complain about big things, and I complain about things that make absolutely no sense. Doug is extremely patient with me, because if he complained, even half as much as I do, I would be a mess. It would hurt my self esteem if he told me I didn’t know how to load a dishwasher, or if he mentioned a million times to put a Bounce sheet in the dryer!

I’ve tried to think about how I should approach this challenge. Should I tell Doug, or should I wait to see if he notices? Can I write my complaints down in secret so that I can air them the next day? Can I post about all the things that I didn’t complain about? Should I wait until Doug and the kids go out of town for the day so that I’ll just be dealing with myself?

I think that if I can actually do this it would make our house a happier place to be. Plus, I’m pretty sure that if I decide to just deal with things instead of complaining I’ll feel a new sense of personal satisfaction.

Okay, I’ve convinced myself. I can do this. I am woman, hear me roar (but not in a complaining way!).

I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow!

5 Comments

  1. Trisha said,

    You go girl! Now you know why I write in my journal all the time! But I only just started thinking about how my prodigy would think I was a huge complainer! HA!

  2. Trisha said,

    I just read this to Charlie! And I quote “telling your wife she complains too much probably is not going to have the desired effect. You thought she complained too much before! Honey you complain too much, oh Doug thank you so much for pointing out I complain too much! Let me stop this instint” Hahahah!!

  3. Nisa Hunt said,

    I’m feelin’ a sisterhood. I’m such a complainer!!!! And I NEVER EVER REMEMBER THE DRYER SHEET. IN fact, right now the dryer is running through a second time on dad’s already dry shirts. I threw in a dryer sheet and I’m hoping it works.

  4. Paige said,

    At least Doug was nice enough to say that you were complaining and not nagging! OR maybe if I call it nagging then I can get through the day without complaining? I’m up for a good challenge like this one. I hope I make it though at least an hour of tomorrow before I resign myself to my room so I can complete it!

  5. Paige said,

    Oh yes, and about the dryer sheet, you should try the Bounce bar, you don’t have to remember a dryer sheet for about 3 months!

Leave a Reply

