I Was So Close

January 29, 2010 at 10:57 am (Family)

The bins are still there, but if I really want them moved, I can do it myself!

I know you’ve all been waiting on the edge of your seats to see how everything went with my no complaining challenge. I am happy to report that things went very well. I didn’t complain to Doug at all, although I think I might have let a few complaints sneak in while I was talking to Ingrid and Dixie. I also made great strides in my efforts to curb eye-rolling. I’m not sure if you realize thins, but eye rolling is a form of complaining! I had a near miss with that one. Doug asked me to change a diaper, and I thought really hard, my eyes started their journey upward, but then I got a hold of myself, and everything was okay.

You may be wondering how difficult this was for me. To be honest, it really wasn’t that hard. The fact that I was concentrating on not complaining really helped me. I thought for sure I would want to tell Doug how good I had been, and then hand him a list of everything that I didn’t complain about, but I don’t even think there was anything to complain about. I’m pretty sure it was a regular day, but it was definitely a lot smoother than normal. I didn’t even tell Doug about the experiment. I might bring it up in the future if he brings up complaining again, but his validation of the project didn’t really matter in the end. I had a really good day, and I think my kids had a good day, and that’s my barometer for success.

In case you’re wondering about the title of the post, I think I did really well until 8:00 when I turned on the radio to listen to the State of the Union!

1 Comment

  1. ingrid said,

    Just so you know, I heard no complaints during our little chat. You are awesome for taking on this challenge. I think everyone finds themselves in situations when complaining sneaks in, and when I saw your challenge to yourself, I also took the challenge! It was all very humbling finding that I can be more positive in all aspects of my life, so thank you. I intend to carry on this challenge every day and count my blessings more! Thank you for your inspiration! Oh…and your jar idea…we decided to combine our jars together and now have a ROBERTS GRATITUDE/WARM FUZZIES JAR to combine our thankfulness with acts of kindness! Today, we are grateful for Aunt Sarah and her great ideas!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

