One of Those Days

February 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm (Random Thoughts)

Do you ever just have one of those days? The kind of day that might drive you to drink, if you were the drinking type? I’m not the drinking type, so those kind of days send me in search of San Pellegrino and a fancy crystal glass.

The kind of day where you run into a friend at Costco who does not even come close to resembling a woman who just had a baby 3 weeks ago, thereby makng your 8 month post-partum self look gigantic. Where, in that very same Costco the fudge sampler rubs your belly(without asking) and asks when the baby is due. Perhaps you shouldn’t have been buying the fudge, but perhaps the sampler might also have noticed the 8 month old baby in the cart.

Or maybe it’s the kind of day where you and a friend head a half an hour away to attend a much-anticipated chocolate making class. The class that promised some very dreamy samples. And perhaps once you arrive at said class you are informed that you only registered for one spot instead of two. Perhaps you are overcome with guilt because not only are you registration-challenged, but apparently the laws of physics don’t allow for squeezing another chair into the room (I don’t know if it’s really the laws of physics, but Doug probably won’t be reading this, so I’m letting it go).

Perhaps this really good friend offers to come and pick you up later because you decided to carpool (curse Al Gore and his environmentalism). Perhaps you are still overcome with the guilt of being both technologically illiterate and a horrible friend. Perhaps you decided to not go to the class, and perhaps that same friend tried to make you  feel better by buying you dinner.

Do you ever just get thrown for a loop by negativity? I mean, my day really wasn’t all that bad. I ended up having a great night out, I didn’t yell at my kids, and I’m fitting into all of my clothes,  but the whole thing left me sad and disappointed. I know I have the best life. I am seriously living my dream, so why be sad about a chocolate class?

I’m going to have to go and ponder this over a glass of San Pellegrino.

8 Comments

  1. liz said,

    Does San Pellegrino really work for that? It would be a lot more calorically responsible than my medicine of choice, which involves both chocolate and corn chips. In the same setting. Preferably with milk.

  2. Christina said,

    Hope you have an amazing day today.

  3. Nisa Hunt said,

    WEll, I cannot at all commiserate with the desire to eat chocolate, although I have had horrible days. IF it makes you feel better, I picture you skinny and deliciously gorgeous in my head. Hope tomorrow goes better.

  4. Sharleen said,

    Doesn’t even seem like you need the drink! Maybe you just needed to write about it! By the end of the post, you seemed to have settled on the fact that you do have a fabulous life! You are beautiful and have a beautiful family. You are talented and you share it with others. As to you looking pregnant, that’s just silly. Every time I’ve seen you, you’ve been very thin. Unless, of course, you really ARE pregnant . . . . 🙂

  5. ingrid said,

    That fudge sampler at Sam’s is CRAZY! You are both thin and beautiful. May today be a better day. You really ought to just take a trip to Florida…we’re full of sunshine over here! 😉

  6. Trisha said,

    I love you!! This is the funniest thing I have read in ages! You should write a book, you have such a way with words! I love you and if I could look like you I would cut off my foot!

  7. Amy F. said,

    I loved this post, Sarah. It made me feel sympathetic and angry at the same time. (Angry at the social moron who touches a woman’s belly with or without asking. Who does that? I hated that when I was pregnant, let alone sans baby.) I don’t really like San Pellegrino but I love the idea of a partially frozen diet coke in a special glass.
    Hope your day is better today.

  8. DJo said,

    I’m a little too close for comfort to this one. 🙂 The regrets or sadness that I have is that YOU missed the class and that I had anything to do with. Buying dinner was my apology to you! And it was cheaper than the c;ass! We should have ordered Pellegrina at dinner. 🙂 I am sorry that I had anything to do with you missing it.

Leave a Reply

