Wherefore art thou Becel?

March 17, 2010 at 5:10 pm (Grrr!, Random Thoughts)

A love letter to my favorite spreadable margarine:

Dear Becel,

My love for you was nurtured in my home and native land. A spreadable margarine that is both heart healthy and tasty. Not to mention the miracle that is your ability to butter toast without making the toast soggy. Why do Canadians have a monopoly on non-soggy toast? Why do customs agents look at me like I’m crazy when I say that I’m declaring margarine? Why do I have to deprive my children of the goodness that is Becel because I never know when I’m going to get my next supply? Why oh why aren’t you available at a supermarket near me?

I have tried to replace you with American spreadable margarine, but nothing here has your je ne sais quoi. Even the Promise Spread with it’s near identical font was a disappointment. I was sure that Promise had to be America’s answer to Becel, but I was wrong. Even though, in theory, they are the same product, Promise lacks Becel’s magic.

I love you and I will always be loyal. Please move south of the border very soon.

xoxo

me

ps:  I have just found a source that says it ships all kinds of Canadian goodness around the world. This could be my answer for Becel and ketchup chips!

4 Comments

  1. Christina said,

    Have you tried smart balance? I saw it at Costco recently and thought it might be similar.

  2. Charlotte said,

    You crack me up!!!

  3. Honey said,

    Sarah! Try Canola Harvest (it’s made in Lethbridge and sold in the US). You should be able to find it at Walmart – although my mom says it goes pretty quickly. It tastes just like it. Let me know what you think. Good luck!

  4. Amy said,

    That’s funny! When I was travelling to Michighan for work on a regular basis, they used to ask me to bring Coffee Crisp, and I would ask them to pick me up some Mr. Goodbar’s!

Leave a Reply

