Yes, I’m Spelling it Correctly

April 7, 2010 at 8:22 pm (Grrr!)

About once a year I find it impossible to login to my hotmail account. It’s as if the email gods are conspiring to have me do something productive with my family. They’re just trying to show me who’s boss. That’s what happened yesterday. All of a sudden,  out of nowhere, no more email. This kind of thing would annoy me on a regular day, but I was coordinating two moves for today, and I needed my hotmail.

The last time this happened to me  I asked a computer guy in my ward. He’s supposed to be the Indiana Jones of computers (I don’t even know what that means), and his big solution was that I was spelling it wrong. He thought that after over ten years with hotmail I suddenly forgot how to spell it. There was no logical reason that only hotmail wouldn’t work; that it would work at the library but not on any of our three home computers. The problem was obviously my spelling.

Now, I’ve never been to Washington for the National Spelling Bee, but I’m pretty sure I’m capable of stringing together seven letters to form a word.

Fast forward a year and I’m in the same predicament. This time I call our internet provider. I disable the security software, I delete the cache, still nothing. At this point I decided to spend some quality time with the kids and just wait for Doug ( I don’t care if this sets feminism back, one of the reasons that I got married was for the 24 hour technical support!).

Just so that I remember when this happens again next year: if hotmail isn’t working, reset the router.

1 Comment

  1. Margaret said,

    I’ve had the exact same problem with hotmail. But I swear it happens to me about twice a year. It is so aggravating. Glad to know I’m not the only one. And now I know: reset the router….or stop using hotmail.

Leave a Reply

