How I’m keeping track of my Summer Vacation (Thanks to Sharleen!)

July 5, 2010 at 3:38 pm (Crafty Stuff, Family, Fun Stuff)

I have been trying to think of ways to keep the boys entertained, and I thought a big to do list might help them keep track of stuff they wanted to do this Summer. We spent one FHE writing down everything that everyone wanted to do. I put it all in a little notebook, but that didn’t really help the boys. Them one day I came upon this lovely idea and tutorial.

I’m not much of a Photoshop expert, but my sister-in-law Sharleen works wonders with the PSE. I sent her a quick e-mail with a link, and look what she created for me:

Don’t you wish Sharleen was your sister-in-law? She sent me files that were formatted to a 12″ x 18″ size,  and  they were all ready for me to upload to Costco.  I went to Hobby Lobby and bought an 11 3/4″ x 36″ (?) frame … at 50% off and then I wrote everything write on the glass with a dry erase marker. I’m pretty much in love with this project!! I’m planning on calling Sharleen again for my Articles of Faith project!

3 Comments

  1. anna said,

    Wow! It looks so good. I can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. ingrid said,

    Awesome Idea! I now understand what you were explaining to me over the phone. That Sharleen sure is amazing! And you sure have some great ideas! How did I luck out with such amazing sister-in-laws?!?!? Think she could make me one too? 😉 Our summer goals are written in a journal…having a list out and framed in a visible location helps to reach those goals. I just love this! I’m curious about your Articles of Faith project. We used this same principle in helping our kids memorize the AofF by having that HUGE framed $1 print hung on the wall closest to our kitchen table for them to memorize and discuss during meals. Can’t wait to see you soon so we can chat all about this!

  3. sharleen said,

    Ingrid – Sarah could just share the costco photos with you and you can print them off in a jiffy.
    Sarah – your list looks long – good luck! I’m very curious about the AofF idea.

Leave a Reply

