Halloween 2010

November 8, 2010 at 10:01 am (Family, Fun Stuff, Road Trips)

We were in Crestview for Halloween, but I thought there was already an overload of pictures on that post, so here is my separate post dedicated to Halloween, which is odd because we didn’t even trick-or-treat this year!

I have been planning the kids’ costumes for almost a year. Let me rephrase that, I had been thinking about the kids costumes for almost a year. Everyone is loving Mario, and I thought that would be an excellent theme. William could be Mario, Samuel could be Luigi, Ben could be the yellow mushroom head thing, and Afton was going to be Princess Peach. I thought these would be super easy to put together myself. Some overalls,some hats, a church dress for Afton, how hard could it be? I know I could have bought the costumes, but they look cheap and are actually pretty pricey. So, after thinking about the costumes for almost a year, I headed out to Goodwill in search of overalls … the week before Halloween! I had no luck, and also no costumes! I also had to figure in that Samuel no longer wanted to be Luigi, he thought Bowser would be a better costume. Plus, we were also getting ready for our trip. Apparently even if you are thinking about a costume for a year, you are still able to procrastinate the actual construction of said costume!

A couple of weeks before Halloween, Samuel’s class was studying ancient Egypt, and so there was a lot of talk about mummies. I know it’s not the most original costume, but I was very happy. I spent $21 on long underwear, which the boys have been wearing for pajamas. I had a ton of muslin in my fabric collection and I had lots of Halloween make up that I bought on clearance last year.

Since Halloween was on a Sunday this year, I knew that we wouldn’t be trick-or-treating, but because of our trip we were also missing the ward trunk-or-treat. Originally we were planning on a trip to Disney, but when the shuttle got delayed, so did all of the Disney plans. Luckily, the town of Crestview has a Fall Festival, and we were able to dress up for that. There was also candy for the kids, but not too much! It was a great little bit of Halloween fun.

How's that for an extra cute nephew?!

4 Comments

  1. Megan said,

    Hooray on the mummy costumes! I also tried my hand at mummies for my twins. I bought them gray thermals and tried to wrap them in gauze. It worked okay until they couldn’t put them on by themselves for their school parade. They went as a dead man walking (with a Harry Potter Cape) and as a tiger. Oh, well. There’s always next year- maybe Josh can wear the gauze! Cute kiddos!

  2. sharleen said,

    Awwww . . . . very cute kids! Nice job with the costumes and on a dime (OK, maybe many dimes . . . but not too many!)

  3. ingrid said,

    I still think those were the most creative costumes EVER! Did you hear how many people were saying , “Look at those mummies!” “Those costumes are so cool!” Your trio of mummies would have definitely won the costume contest if we had stayed late enough for it. Thanks again for coming. I thought of you this evening when I used the panini press to make some cuban sandwiches. They were very tasty!

  4. Charlotte said,

    AW…halloween with cousins, so fun! Can’t wait for Christmas with Cousins!

Leave a Reply

