Football 2010

November 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm (Family, Fun Stuff)

Samuel and Coach Matt

Samuel played flag football this Fall. His previous encounter with team sports was Soccer in the Spring of ’07. I wasn’t really holding out high hopes, but a friend of ours was coaching, and this seemed like as good a time as any. I’ll be clear here, I’m not expecting Samuel’s University scholarship money to come from football. I’m thinking that my firstborn is more of a mathlete! He did love playing though. Samuel’s team only won one game this season, but he had so much fun every single week, and I attribute that to his coach. I got to see a lot of different coaching styles at all of the games we attended, and Samuel’s coach was amazing at including everyone and letting everyone try different positions.

I think the best thing to come out of this experience is that Samuel now understands the game. Now he can watch his Tigers with his dad, and get it a bit better. I don’t know if I’m a parent who is going to encourage a ton of sporting activities (let’s be honest, it’s more work for me!), but this was definitely a wonderful experience.

3 Comments

  1. Trisha said,

    Nice! He looks good…plus I know that kid has a gun! Charlie says “put some pads on the boy and let him hit someone”!

  2. ingrid said,

    Fun times! ! I love that they wear padded jerseys for flag football there..everything really is bigger in Texas!!!

  3. ingrid said,

    Time to update?

Leave a Reply

