Road Trip: Day 3 or Our Journey to the Smartest City in America

August 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm (Family, Road Trips)

On Monday morning we checked out of our Santa Fe hotel. I only had two requests: a visit to Trader Joe’s and a visit to the State Capitol. Am I the only one with a love of state capitols?! Those two locations were pretty close together, so it was easy. Doug then wanted to go to Taos and check out the area. Since I knew Julia Roberts has a house there, I was all for it! I also consulted our little Paul Roberts Santa Fe guide and noticed that he mentioned the Bradbury Science museum. We entered it into the GPS and saw that it didn’t put us too far out of our way. Monday was a free day, so we decided to head to Los Alamos.

New Mexico State Capitol

I have to say that I loved Los Alamos. It’s like you actually get smarter as you drive up the mountain! I couldn’t help feeling though, like we entered an episode of Lost. In New Mexico a lot of the houses are adobe style, but Los Alamos looks pretty Main Street, USA. Clearly it was built by people who weren’t local to the area! I loved the museum. They had all these stories of people who had worked in Los ALamos and what they did. Doug loved the technical things, and the kids loved all the Legos. It was very impressive for a free museum!

Lego Exhibit

Taos however, was less than impressive. I was expecting a Park City/ Vail type of town, but instead it was pretty unremarkable. I think the problem was that we didn’t drive all the way to the ski resort. Maybe it’s totally deluxe 20 miles up the hill.

The rest of Monday was spent driving to Denver. It was a pretty long drive, but we saw lots of beautiful scenery and the kids were great. We got into Denver late Monday night and met up with Mike and Ingrid and their family for a couple of fun filled days in Denver.

3 Comments

  1. ingrid said,

    What a great adventure y’all had before you even joined us in Denver! I had no idea!!!! So where are the wild horse photos? Doug was pretty proud of those! Looking forward to all your updates…perhaps I will update my blog too one of these days!

  2. sharleen said,

    i feel pretty lame that warren and i haven’t gone to los alamos or carlsbad cavern since moving here and that YOU and your family have and live so much further away! you’ve made me very curious about los alamos!

  3. ingrid said,

    Updates, please?!?

Leave a Reply

